Digital Archives Initiative
Newfoundland Historic Trust
menu off  add document to favorites : add page to favorites : reference url back to results : previous : next
 Search this object:
 0 hit(s) :: previous hit : next hit
  previous page : next page
Document Description
TitleTen Historic Towns
Alternative titleTen Historic Towns: Heritage Architecture in Newfoundland
PublisherValhalla Press, by arrangement with the Newfoundland Historic Trust
Place of PublicationSt. John's
DescriptionFollowing on from the first volume in the series, A Gift of Heritage, the Newfoundland Historic Trust turned its attention to properties outside of the capital of St. John's. Ten Historic Towns examines buildings in communities on the Avalon, Bonavista and Burin Peninsulas, and the northeast coast of the island. After an introductory article on outport architecture, each town is presented in turn with a short history and a map followed by its buildings, each with descriptive text and an illustration.

ContentsPreface -- The architecture of town and outport / Shane O'Dea -- Ferryland [history and map] -- Lighthouse -- Holy Trinity Church -- Freebairn-Coffey House -- Placentia [history and map] -- Presentation Convent -- Croucher-Bonier House -- Verran House -- Cable Office -- Brigus [history and map] -- Mercy Convent -- Hawthorne Cottage -- Stone Barn -- Thompson House -- Hearn House -- Harbour Grace [history and map] -- Stevenson House -- West End Mercantile Establishment -- Ridley Offices -- St. Paul's Church -- Hampshire Cottage -- Custom's House -- Cron House -- Court House and jail -- Bristol's Hope [history and map] -- Mosquito School House -- Thomey House -- Carbonear [history and map] -- Pike House -- Rorke Premises -- Peach's Farm -- Trinity [history and map] -- Ash-McGrath House -- Holy Trinity Church -- St. Paul's Church -- Dock Road Premises -- Ryan-Garland Property -- Bonavista [history and map] -- R.C. Rectory -- Ryan Premises -- Bridge House -- Bradley House -- Abbot House -- Fogo [history and map] -- Miller House -- S.U.F. Hall -- United Church -- Hillside -- Bleak House -- Earle Premises -- Twillingate [history and map] -- Ashbourne House -- Masonic Hall -- Hodge Premises -- St. Peter's Church -- Grand Bank [history and map] -- Harris-Russell House -- Foote Premises -- Thorndyke Hotel -- Buffett House -- Temperance Hall -- Acknowledgements -- [Map:] Location of towns.

SubjectHistoric buildings--Newfoundland and Labrador
Architecture--Newfoundland and Labrador
Newfoundland and Labrador--History, Local
Ferryland (N.L.)
Placentia (N.L.)
Brigus (N.L.)
Harbour Grace (N.L.)
Bristol's Hope (N.L.)
Carbonear (N.L.)
Trinity (N.L.)
Bonavista (N.L.)
Fogo (N.L.)
Twillingate (N.L.)
Grand Bank (N.L.)
ContributorsBall, Jean M.
Physical Description[132] p. : ill.
NoteNewfoundland Historic Trust publications; v. 2
LocationCanada--Newfoundland and Labrador--Ferryland; Canada--Newfoundland and Labrador--Placentia; Canada--Newfoundland and Labrador--Brigus; Canada--Newfoundland and Labrador--Harbour Grace; Canada--Newfoundland and Labrador--Bristol's Hope; Canada--Newfoundland and Labrador--Carbonear; Canada--Newfoundland and Labrador--Trinity; Canada--Newfoundland and Labrador--Bonavista; Canada--Newfoundland and Labrador--Fogo; Canada--Newfoundland and Labrador--Twillingate; Canada--Newfoundland and Labrador--Grand Bank
Time Period16th Century; 17th Century; 18th Century; 19th Century; 20th Century
Call NumberNA 7242 N4 T44
Resource TypeBook
Record NumberNHT-0002
CollectionNewfoundland Historic Trust
RepositoryMemorial University of Newfoundland. Libraries. Centre for Newfoundland Studies.
Original drawings housed at Archives and Manuscripts Division, QEII Library, Memorial University.
SourcePaper text held in the Centre for Newfoundland Studies.