Skip to main content

Memorial University of Newfoundland - Digital Archives Initiative

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: ICH - Avalon

  • All fields: first
(79 results)



Display: 20

    • Boats and fishing gear on Henrys Beach

    • Boats; Families; Fishing equipment; Fishing boats; Landscape; Salt-curing; Architecture, building and construction;
    • Henrys Beach is the point of land separating the Pond from the Gut. This area was traditionally owned by the Roche's who built fishing stages here after marriage into the Nash family. The land was also used to dry fish during the salt cod fishery....
    • Aerial view of the shoreline, Flats and Place

    • Houses; Towns;
    • The Place refers to the main cluster of houses west of the River. Since the 1970s, there has been considerable residential development in the Easter Cove (not shown). People living in the Easter Cove will say they are going over to the Place when...
    • MUNFLA Finding Aid, Bay Roberts, NL

    •  
    • This is a finding aid of materials found in the Memorial University Folklore and Language Archive (MUNFLA) relating to Bay Roberts and surrounding areas. This finding aid relates to Bay Roberts and the surrounding areas of French’s...
    • The Black Wharf juts out into the Cove

    • Architecture, building and construction; Landscape;
    • The Black Wharf was originally a finger pier placed to slow the adverse effects of river sand and tidal action on the depth of the Gut. Over the years, the structural material of the Black Wharf has changed and today this structure is technically a...
    • Panoramic View of Branch from the Naked Man - 1965

    • Landscape; Towns;
    • Branch has a rich landscape where the mouth of Branch River opens out into a wide valley along the shoreline of Branch Cove. The Naked Man is the highest point of land in the Easter Cove. The term naked man is the local term for an Irish cairn (or...
    • A view of the Place from across the River

    • Families; Towns;
    • Oral tradition has it that several years after settling in Branch, Thomas Nash returned to Ireland to perform his Easter duties, there being no priests in the area at the time. On his return, he was joined by two friends, Bill English and Nix...
    • A view from the Hill

    • Families; Houses; Towns; Weddings;
    • In the early-1800s, Nix Power married one of Thomas Nashs daughters and the Powers settled on the Hill above the Gut and Square. In the mid-1850s, another family of Powers arrived and settled on the Hill. Patrick Mooney (b. 1816) the first Mooney...
    • The Hayjers Rock stands at the entrance to Branch Cove

    • Landscape;
    • The Hayjers Rock, standing solitary at the tip of the Wester Cove, is the iconic landmark of Branch - a reminder of the play between land and ocean, and a bedrock symbol of Home for generations. In the time of the first settlers, this rock was...
    • Relaxing by the Plot monument

    • Churches; Religion;
    • The Catholic religion has played a central role in the lives of Branch residents. The Plot marks the site of the first Church in Branch, built in 1848 at the Gut. The third and current church was built in 1983 and overlooks the Place from Peters...
    • Fog shrouds the River Styx

    • Folk beliefs;
    • Branch is home to more than the human element. Fairies and those from other realms are known to inhabit places like the River Styx. Perhaps the fairies followed the first Irish settlers? The people of Branch have a respectful relationship with...
    • Stakes piled on the Big Hill

    • Architecture, building and construction; Vernacular architecture;
    • The tree-covered hills around Branch provide firewood and timber. Over the years, this local supply has been used to build houses and boats, horse slides and box carts, wharves and flakes, furniture and barrels. The Big Hill is known as a good...
    • Jerry OKeefe on O'Keefes Path

    • Landscape;
    • As the trees closer to the Place were cut, paths were required to haul out timber and firewood from further away. Along the first paths, wood was carried out on a horse and slide in the winter. Paths were blazed by individuals but used by all....
    • Dam on John Englishs Gully

    • Architecture, building and construction;
    • John Englishs Gully was dammed in 1949 to provide the first municipal water supply. Marina Gambin writes her fathers response to her inquiry on Englishs identity, A fellow by the name of John English used to go out there in the summertime and strip...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK