Skip to main content

Memorial University of Newfoundland - Digital Archives Initiative

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: ICH - Avalon

  • All fields: Road
(432 results)



Display: 20

    • Murray's Pond Fishing Club

    • Buildings;
    • Murray's Pond Fishing Club is located at 1464 Portugal Cove Road. It was started by R.A. Brhem in 1882. The original clubhouse was built in 1900 and was in front of Murray's Pond on Portugal Cove Road. The building that is still standing today was...
    • John and Val Quinton's Barn

    • Outbuildings; Barns
    • This barn belongs to John and Val Quinton and dates at least to 1886. It is located at 81 Beachy Cove Road. At one point it housed one horse, three cows, chickens and pigs. It is currently used mostly for storage.
    • Aunt Sally's House

    • Houses;
    • This house is about 90 years old and is located on Thorpes Road. The windows and door have been replaced, and the left side was extended in later years. This house was owned by a woman named Sally Harvey. There is a root cellar on the property as...
    • Ed King's Tool Shed

    • Outbuildings; Sheds;
    • This is a photo of Ed King's tool shed, which is located on West Point Road. It is over 100 years old, and is currently being used for storage.
    • Frank Brophy's Barn

    • Outbuildings; Barns
    • This is a photo of Frank Brophy's barn, located at 49 Beachy Cove Road. It was built around the mid 1800's by a man named John Lamey. It has since been renovated, and is mostly used for storage now.
    • Frank Brophy's Root Cellar

    • Outbuildings; Root cellars;
    • This is a photo of Frank Brophy's root cellar, located at 49 Beachy Cove Road. It was built around the mid 1800's by a man named John Lamey. There is a structure on top that used to be a workshop but is now simply used as storage.
    • P.J.'s Convenience Store

    • Stores;
    • This is a photo of P.J.'s convenience store, which was one of the first shops in the community. It was established by Eli Clarke, who was a local entrepreneur. He also owned the sawmill and donated land for a school that was located on School Road....
    • Bridge over Broad Cove River

    • Bridges
    • This is a photo of the first bridge built in the community, which was built in the 1800s. It connects Thorburn Road and Spurrell's Road.
    • Gordon's Snack Bar

    • Houses; Restaurants
    • This is a photograph of a house that used to be a resturant called Gordon's Snack Bar. It is located on the corner of Anglican Cemetery Road and Portugal Cove Road. Gordon's was most well known in the area for its fish and chips.
    • Farm Road Path

    •  
    • This is a photograph of a path called Farm Road Path. It is located on Tolt Road next to the mail boxes. There are some houses along the path, but there used to be many more.
    • Bob O'Brien's House

    • Houses;
    • This is a photograph of Bob O'Brien's house, which is over 100 years old. It is located at 24 Belbin's Road. It's notable features include a mansard roof and a typical timber frame construction. It was previously owned by Davey Tucker. There was a...
    • Ed King's House

    • Houses;
    • This is a photograph of Ed King's house, located on West Point Road. The house is about 80 years old. He bought it from his brother and turned it into three one bedroom apartments.
    • Edgar and Edna Spurrell

    • People;
    • This is a photograph of Edgar and Edna Spurrell. They are a married couple who have been living together in Portugal Cove-St. Philip's for thirty years. Edna descends from the original line of Tuckers in the area. She grew up on Old Broad Cove...
    • Frank Brophy's House

    • Houses;
    • This is a photograph of Frank Brophy's house, which is located at 49 Beachy Cove Road. It was built in the mid 1800's by a man named John Lamey. John owned a great deal of property in Portugal Cove at this time and built many structures....
    • Kaaren Robinson's House

    • Houses;
    • This is a photograph of Kaaren Robinson's house, located at 63 Beachy Cove Road. It was built in 1902 or 1903. There was a store that ran out of this house called Aunt Daisy's. Mac Miller was also born in this house.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK