Skip to main content

Memorial University of Newfoundland - Digital Archives Initiative

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: ICH - Avalon

  • All fields: Photo
(114 results)



Display: 20

    • Home of Maurice Nash on the Square

    • Towns; Families; Houses; Architecture, building and construction;
    • As the number of Nashs increased, homesteads were built on the Square just above the Gut. Maurice (b. 1909) was the son of Thomas Nash (b. 1859) who first built on the Square. This Thomas Nash was the grandson of the first settler Thomas Nash.
    • Sheep feed during low tide on the Flats

    • Landscape; Livestock;
    • At the mouth of The River, the delta is exposed twice a day as the ocean recedes from beyond the causeway. Here a considerable expanse of river islands, knows as the Flats, sit in the heart of the valley. High tide surrounds the outer flats while...
    • Activity on and around the Wharf

    • Boardwalks; People;
    • Between the 1950s and 1980s, most of the activity at the Gut happened on the Wharf the marginal wharf on the west side of the Gut. Even when the boats were not in, the Wharf was a lively place.
    • Kelly's Island

    • Landscape; Islands
    • This is a photo of a small piece of land known by locals as Kelly's Island. Legend has it that this is where pirates buried their treasure. There was a fishing stage on this island for many years.
    • Ed King's Tool Shed

    • Outbuildings; Sheds;
    • This is a photo of Ed King's tool shed, which is located on West Point Road. It is over 100 years old, and is currently being used for storage.
    • Frank Brophy's Barn

    • Outbuildings; Barns
    • This is a photo of Frank Brophy's barn, located at 49 Beachy Cove Road. It was built around the mid 1800's by a man named John Lamey. It has since been renovated, and is mostly used for storage now.
    • Frank Brophy's Root Cellar

    • Outbuildings; Root cellars;
    • This is a photo of Frank Brophy's root cellar, located at 49 Beachy Cove Road. It was built around the mid 1800's by a man named John Lamey. There is a structure on top that used to be a workshop but is now simply used as storage.
    • John and Val Quinton's Chicken Coop

    • Outbuildings; Chicken coops;
    • This is a photo of John and Val Quinton's chicken coop. It was given to them by the owners of the Hayes White House, along with the chickens that they still own. John was unsure exactly how old the structure is but if it came from the White House...
    • John and Val Quinton's Smokehouse

    • Outbuildings; Smokehouses
    • This is a photo of John and Val Quinton's smokehouse which dates back to the early 1900's. It would have been used for smoking fish and other meats in the past, but is no longer used by John and Val.
    • P.J.'s Convenience Store

    • Stores;
    • This is a photo of P.J.'s convenience store, which was one of the first shops in the community. It was established by Eli Clarke, who was a local entrepreneur. He also owned the sawmill and donated land for a school that was located on School Road....
    • Bridge over Broad Cove River

    • Bridges
    • This is a photo of the first bridge built in the community, which was built in the 1800s. It connects Thorburn Road and Spurrell's Road.
    • Original United Church

    • Buildings; Churches;
    • This is a photo of the original United Church, located on Roses Lane. The first Methodist service was held in the community in 1791 by William Black. The first Methodist church was built in the early 1800s. Around 1920 this church was torn down and...
    • Paulette King's House

    • Houses;
    • This is an exterior photo of Paulette King's house located on Portugal Cove Road. This building is between 100 and 110 years old and was originally the Orange Lodge. There were two Orange Lodge's in the community, and this one was the women's...
    • The Society of United Fishermen's Hall

    • Buildings;
    • This is an exterior photo of the old United Fishermen's Hall, which is located at the base of School Road. This building was constructed by the community in 1930. The triangle is the main emblem of the society which can be seen on the front of this...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK