Skip to main content

Memorial University of Newfoundland - Digital Archives Initiative

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: ICH - Avalon

  • All fields: Labrador--St
(2307 results)



Display: 20

    • Stone Family House

    • Houses;
    • This house is located on Nice Lane. It is about 100 years old, and was once owned by a man named Roland Clarke. Roland Clarke was Bill Lamswood's grandfather. It is now owned by the Stone family.
    • Gary Codner's House

    • Houses;
    • This is a photograph of Gary Codner's house, located at 19 Harding's Hill. He moved into the house around 20 years ago. The house is about 160 years old, and although it looks new on the outside, the interior is well preserved. The original...
    • Farm Road Path

    •  
    • This is a photograph of a path called Farm Road Path. It is located on Tolt Road next to the mail boxes. There are some houses along the path, but there used to be many more.
    • Josh Gladney's House

    • Houses;
    • This is an exterior photograph of a house owned by Josh Gladney located on Portugal Cove Road. It was built by Mr. Dyke. It is currently being renovated into two apartments that will be rented. The house is over a hundred years old, but there was...
    • John and Val Quinton's Root Cellar

    • Outbuildings; Root cellars;
    • This is an exterior shot of John and Val Quinton's root cellar located at 81 Beachy Cove Road. In the past it had a workshop on top that was used by the Hanlon family. It is somewhat decrepit but John has plans to rebuild it so that he can use it...
    • Fred's Grocery Store

    • Houses; Stores;
    • This is a photograph of what used to be a grocery store, called Fred's Grocery. It is located at 1797 Portugal Cove Road. It is now apartments, and the owners of the place live behind this structure.
    • St Agatha's School

    • Buildings;
    • This was once a school called St. Agatha's school and is located on Old Broad Cove Road. It was built in 1949, and went from kindergarten to grade eight. Kids would then go to St. Philip's high school if they were not too far away to walk. This...
    • Jim Tucker's House

    • Houses;
    • This is an exterior shot of Jim Tucker's house which is located on Old Broad Cove Road. This house was built by Edna Spurrell's grandparents and was where she grew up. It was later sold to Jim Tucker who now resides there with his wife. This house...
    • Bob O'Brien's House

    • Houses;
    • This is a photograph of Bob O'Brien's house, which is over 100 years old. It is located at 24 Belbin's Road. It's notable features include a mansard roof and a typical timber frame construction. It was previously owned by Davey Tucker. There was a...
    • Original United Church

    • Buildings; Churches;
    • This is a photo of the original United Church, located on Roses Lane. The first Methodist service was held in the community in 1791 by William Black. The first Methodist church was built in the early 1800s. Around 1920 this church was torn down and...
    • John and Val Quinton's Barn

    • Outbuildings; Barns
    • This barn belongs to John and Val Quinton and dates at least to 1886. It is located at 81 Beachy Cove Road. At one point it housed one horse, three cows, chickens and pigs. It is currently used mostly for storage.
    • Foundations of Picco Houses

    • Houses;
    • These foundations were once houses that belonged to the Picco family in Portugal Cove. There are three or four foundations in total. This would have been an ideal place to live as it was right next to the water, making it incredibly convenient for...
    • Hibb's Store

    • Houses; Stores;
    • This is a photograph of a house that used to be a grocery store owned by Jessie Hibbs. It is located on Harding's Hill.
    • Old Church Antique Shop

    • Buildings; Churches; Shops
    • This is an exterior photograph of what used to be the St. Lawrence Anglican Church which was built in 1920. It is now an antique shop which is filled with all kinds of interesting items.
    • Edgar and Edna Spurrell

    • People;
    • This is a photograph of Edgar and Edna Spurrell. They are a married couple who have been living together in Portugal Cove-St. Philip's for thirty years. Edna descends from the original line of Tuckers in the area. She grew up on Old Broad Cove...
    • The Public House

    • Buildings;
    • This is the remains of the old Public House, which was the place where people would gather and drink in the community. It is located on Thorpes Road. It was built in the late 1800s and was owned by Asariah Tucker.
    • Interview with Edgar and Edna Spurrell

    • Buildings; Houses; People; Towns; Outbuildings; Sheds; Churches;
    • Edgar discusses personal information; history of the house; older houses in the area; the blacksmith shop; Boyde Hiscock's house; sheds; Bill Lamswood's house; supernatural experiences; Eli Clarke; the sawmill; the SUF Hall; St. Philip's school;...
    • Mrs. Somerton's House

    • Houses;
    • This is a photograph of Mrs. Somerton's childhood home which is located on Harding's Hill. It is over 100 years old. Her father bought the house after the Second World War. He ran a hardware store from the house which was called Somerton's Hardware...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK